Anne Arundel County

Share by Email
Fast Facts:
  • Anne Arundel was home to 590,336 people and had 235,208 housing units in 2021. Since 2010, Anne Arundel has added an average of 4,700 people and 2,000 housing units per year.
  • Twenty-six percent of households were renters and 47 percent of renters had unaffordable housing costs.
  • Anne Arundel built 514 new units in 2022.
Compare with Anne Arundel County
Select a jurisdiction

Policy Status

Solving the region's affordable housing crisis requires a portfolio of policies to preserve existing affordable housing, produce more housing, and protect people from discrimination and displacement.

Right of First Refusal

  • Anne Arundel County

Preservation Inventory - Subsidized

  • Anne Arundel County

Preservation Inventory - Unsubsidized

  • Anne Arundel County

Rental Assistance Demonstration

  • Anne Arundel County

Energy Efficiency Upgrades for Homeowners

  • Anne Arundel County

Energy Efficiency Upgrades of Affordable Housing

  • Anne Arundel County

Housing Outcomes

Local jurisdictions submitted data to enable the region to track housing production, preservation, and rental affordability.

Structural Racism

Discriminatory actions and racist public policies have produced inequitable outcomes for Black, Indigenous, and people of color in the Washington region, including lower incomes and wealth, lower homeownership rates, and higher rates of housing cost burden.

Housing Context

Understanding how household incomes relate to the supply of affordable rental and homeownership units will inform jurisdictions' efforts to meet the current and future housing needs of residents.

Elected Officials

  1. Steuart Pittman

    County Executive

  2. Peter Smith

    Chairman - District 1

  3. Allison M. Pickard

    Vice Chairman - District 2

  4. Amanda Fiedler

    Council Member - District 5

  5. Julie Hummer

    Council Member - District 4

  6. Shannon Leadbetter

    Council Member - District 7

  7. Lisa D. B. Rodvien

    Council Member - District 6

  8. Nathan Volke

    Council Member - District 3

Equity Officer

  1. Pete Hill

    Director of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion

Housing Officials

  1. Jenny Jarkowski

    Director of Planning & Zoning

  2. Clifton Martin

    Chief Executive Officer, Housing Commission of Anne Arundel County