City of Annapolis

Share by Email
Fast Facts:
  • The City of Annapolis was home to 40,687 people and had 18,325 housing units in 2021. Since 2010, Annapolis has added an average of 200 people and fewer than 50 housing units per year.
  • Forty-five percent of households were renters and 52 percent of renters had unaffordable housing costs.
  • Annapolis built 98 new units in 2022.
Compare with City of Annapolis
Select a jurisdiction

Policy Status

Solving the region's affordable housing crisis requires a portfolio of policies to preserve existing affordable housing, produce more housing, and protect people from discrimination and displacement.

Right of First Refusal

  • City of Annapolis

Preservation Inventory - Subsidized

  • City of Annapolis

Preservation Inventory - Unsubsidized

  • City of Annapolis

Rental Assistance Demonstration

  • City of Annapolis

Energy Efficiency Upgrades for Homeowners

  • City of Annapolis

Energy Efficiency Upgrades of Affordable Housing

  • City of Annapolis

Housing Outcomes

Local jurisdictions submitted data to enable the region to track housing production, preservation, and rental affordability.

Structural Racism

Discriminatory actions and racist public policies have produced inequitable outcomes for Black, Indigenous, and people of color in the Washington region, including lower incomes and wealth, lower homeownership rates, and higher rates of housing cost burden.

Housing Context

Understanding how household incomes relate to the supply of affordable rental and homeownership units will inform jurisdictions' efforts to meet the current and future housing needs of residents.

Elected Officials

  1. Ross H. Arnett III

    Alderman - Ward 8

  2. Sheila M. Finlayson

    Alderwoman - Ward 4

  3. DaJuan Gay

    Alderman - Ward 6

  4. Rhonda Pindell Charles

    Alderwoman - Ward 3

  5. Karma ONeill

    Alderwoman - Ward 2

  6. Robert Savidge

    Alderman - Ward 7

  7. Brooks Schandelmeier

    Alderman - Ward 5

  8. Eleanor Tierney

    Alderwoman - Ward 1

Equity Officer

  1. Kathy Ebner

    Chair, Affordable Housing and Community Equity Development Commission

Housing Officials

  1. Stephen Rice

    Economic Development Manager, Community and Economic Development Division

  2. Theresa Wellman

    Community Development Administrator, Community and Economic Development Division